In 1969, Princeton first admitted women as undergraduates. 148 women, consisting of 100 freshwomen and transfer students of other years, entered Princeton on September 6, amidst a frenzy of media ogling and ribbing.

Image: Life Magazine


In 1971, Princeton students formed the Women’s Center. At this time, undergraduate men outnumbered women by 19:1.

Image: Daily Princetonian


In 1972, undergraduate students formed the Gay Alliance at Princeton for gay, lesbian and bisexual students.

Image: Daily Princetonian


In 1973, the Society of Women Engineers was founded by thirteen of the 17 women who were majoring in engineering.

Image: Daily Princetonian


In 1975, women were named valedictorian (Cynthia Chase ’75) and salutatorian (Lisa Siegman ’75) for the first time.

Image: Daily Princetonian


In 1977, Joan Girgus became the first woman to be named Dean of the College. She served in this role till 1987. Nina Garsoian served as dean of the Graduate School from 1977 to 1979.

Image: Daily Princetonian

sally frank

In 1979, Sally Frank ’80 filed a sex discrimination suit against all-male eating clubs.

Image: Princeton Alumni Weekly


In 1980, Kimberlee Thompson ’81 became Princeton’s first female ROTC cadet commander.

Image: Daily Princetonian

women’s studies

In 1982, the Program in Women’s Studies was established with Nancy Malkiel (then Nancy Weiss), as its first interim director.

Image: Daily Princetonian


In 1987, SHARE (Sexual Harasment/Assault Advising, Resources and Education) was founded. The first annual Take Back the Night march was held that year.

Image: Daily Princetonian

standing committee

In 1989, the Standing Committee on the Status of Women was established to focus on issues such as work-life resources and the recruitment and retention of women.

Image: Princeton Weekly Bulletin

eating clubs

In 1990, Sally Frank ’80 won her suit and all eating clubs became co-ed. Tiger Inn, the last of the all-male eating clubs, admitted women in 1991.

Image: Daily Princetonian

toni morrison

In 1993, Toni Morrison, who had been part of the Princeton faculty since 1989, was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature.

Image: Daily Princetonian

amy gutmann

In 1995, Amy Gutmann was named Dean of the Faculty and served in this role till 1997. She later served as provost from 2000 to 2004, and she remains the only woman who has held both positions.

Image: Daily Princetonian

shirley tilghman

In 2001, Shirley M. Tilghman was named president of the University. She was the first woman to hold this office and served till 2013.

Image: Daily Princetonian

maria klawe

From 2003 to 2006, Maria Klawe, a computer scientist and former dean of science at the University of British Columbia, served as the dean of Princeton’s School of Engineering and Applied Science.

Image: Daily Princetonian

anne-marie slaughter

In 2003, Anne-Marie Slaughter became the first woman to be named dean of Princeton’s Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs.

Image: Daily Princetonian


In 2002, the number of male and female undergraduates was roughly equal. However, there were 111 tenured women on the faculty out of 538 full-time tenured faculty.

sonia sotomayor

In 2009, Sonia M. Sotomayor ’76 became an Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States. In 2010, Elena Kagan ’81 became an Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States.

Image: Daily Princetonian


In 2016, you are a student at Princeton. What will you do to change the course of history?